Social networking is a paradox

July 28, 2009 at 11:09 pm (Views)

This is what happened with me just a few days back:

Random Friend: Are you on Orkut/Facebook/hi5/<insert any god forsaken site here>?

Me: No.

RF:WTF? Kaunse Zamaane mein hai tu?

Me. Why? Why are you bothered?

RF: Dude, everybody’s there.

Me: Everybody are also in class\tuition\mall everyday. I can actually talk to them instead of scrapping them 24/7.

RF: ParΒ  tu kyaa nahi kar saktaa hai yaar Orkut/Facebook pe.

Me: Getting obscene profiles in your name, finding out that the bully/nut of so-and-so year now knows what your are up to and the people whom you were trying to avoid all your life can access your photo albums is not MY idea of fun. Thank you very much.

RF: How will you stay in touch with us?

Me: Uh…Email? Chat? Blog? or must I also remind you that I have a f**king mobile phone too? And why should I even think of keeping “in touch” with those whom I meet practically everyday?

RF: You are wierd.

Me: Yeah. I am. And I’m hearing this from a guy who…. (classified info now spoken)

RF: WtF??!?! Who told you th…I mean…How did you know?

Me: You dont need to be on Orkut for everything, you know.

RF: Geez…you think you could trust a…

Me:
Not to mention any n00b on the net can read your scraps on Orkut/status and friends on Facebook. Your private life is now public too.

RF:
$h!t 😐

Me: What were you saying about Orkut again? πŸ˜€

RF: /runs away

I rest my case πŸ˜‰

I admit, social networking is good, but well, I just pointed out what can happen too.

PS: All resemblence in this post to any n00b you know is purely coincidental πŸ˜›

2 Comments

  1. Kanhaiya Maheshwary said,

    well…like there are two faces of a coin…same applies to Social Networking..!

    as long as you are using it just to keep in touch with people you don’t meet every now and then, it’s fine..!
    But being addicted to it is not a good thing I must say…

  2. K.K. said,

    ^^
    Agreed. Even so, the cons far exceed the pros, at least in my book 😐

    And I always felt “social networking” was a bit n00bish to begin with, at least with regard to most of whom who use it.

    Anyway, nice to see you comment on my first post in a long time πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

